Μετάβαση στο περιεχόμενο

This oldies playlist.

25 Απριλίου, 2023

It is impossible to find a parking lot in Limassol.

It was a quick, tiring trip there.

On my way back I chose this oldies playlist with all the sing-a-long favourites.

It is a nice one, when you feel like screaming as you cruise at 120 on the motorway.

Very soon, I realized with horror that the childhood chorus of “Qué será, será

Whatever will be, will be…”, is now applicable to the third verse of the song:

“Now I have children of my own

They ask their mother, what will I be

Will I be handsome? Will I be rich?”

It is also the last verse of this song.

…..

That was long before I was around, but you cannot but admire the audacity of a lyric written in the 50s that goes like this:

“Whatever Lola wants, Lola gets

And little man, little Lola wants you

Make up your mind to have (up your mind to have)

No regrets (no regrets)

Recline yourself, resign yourself

You’re through

I always get what I aim for

And your heart and soul is what I came for…”

Some people could interpret it as a kind of bullying. You might even think that it goes over the line and under some of today’s politically correct circumstances, this could be blacklisted!

…..

Well, the next one was in fact blacklisted in some places:

“At break of day when that man drove away, I was waiting

I crossed the street to her house and she opened the door

She stood there laughing

I felt the knife in my hand and she laughed no more…”

I guess he should have kept a clearer and cooler mind…

…..

Well, you may or may not believe the next story.

There were two loud beeps coming out in quick succession on my mobile and when I had the chance to check, I realised that it was two news sites that I follow. They were both announcing the death of Harry Belafonte.

The song on my playlist at that point was in fact “Island in the sun”.

He divorced the second of three wives after 47 years of marriage.

Oh well, at 96 it was a real long life!

No comments yet

Σχολιάστε

Ο ιστότοπος χρησιμοποιεί το Akismet για την εξάλειψη των ανεπιθύμητων σχολίων. Μάθετε πως επεξεργάζονται τα δεδομένα των σχολίων σας.